A Visitor to Our Yard

IMG_4162

All you can see of our latest visitor is the tail.  Look through the fence, on the right hand side.  It’s a turkey.

On Wednesday, my aunt and mom came for lunch.  My aunt had just finished asking my mom if there were any birds starting to come to her new feeders in her yard.  I had just told them that there were lots of birds here in our new yard, as the gentleman who owned the house before us had put up feeders, fed them, etc.  I pointed to the birdhouses, and to my shock and surprise, a turkey jumped over the fence from the neighbor’s yard and began to walk across our yard.  I said, “look, there’s a turkey, now” and  fumbled with my phone, trying to get ready to take a picture, but was not fast enough to get a good one..  I went barreling out the slider into the back yard, raised the phone, and watched in surprise as the turkey jumped onto the fence and over, leaving me with a picture of its tail only.

Not being able to get through the locked gate to chase it further, I tore through the house to the front door, with Ja’Ana and Alissa close behind.  They politely pushed past the 2 unsuspecting Jehovah’s Witness gentlemen who had just appeared on the doorstep, and took off down the street to see where it was going.  The gentlemen seemed quite good-natured, though surprised and were soon on their way.  The girls came back with the news that the turkey had jumped over a neighbor’s fence and headed off across their yard.  We all settled down to the salad lunch the girls had prepared and enjoyed a peaceful lunch with no more surprise visitors.  It was a beautiful bird and I was delighted he chose to meander across our yard.

Leave a Reply

