GF Peach Upside-Down Cake in the Camper

IMG_3083

We were hungry for a treat last week while we were camping at Champoeg.  I had some nice New Haven peaches from my sister’s orchard, and was trying to figure out something good to make that wouldn’t be difficult in the camper.

I melted 4 Tablespoons of butter in the bottom of a pan in the oven.  I added 4 Tablespoons of brown sugar to the melted butter and stirred it around and then arranged 2 peeled, sliced peaches over that melted butter/sugar mixture.  This pan is an old aluminum one I keep in the camper.  It is rectangular, but I’m sure any pan that is around 8″ x 8″ would work.

I then mixed up 1 batch of muffins off the back of the bag of Pamela’s pancake and baking mix.  It uses 1-1/2 cup of the mix, plus some water and an egg.  I did not add any optional fruit, or extra water, because the peaches are both fruit and juicy:)  Pamela’s makes several gluten-free baking mixes, but this one says it’s for pancakes and baking and contains almond flour as well as other flours, so it  was a good combination with the peaches.  If I was not gluten-free, I could have used any packaged muffin mix, such as Jiffy or Betty Crocker, etc.

IMG_3084

I spooned the muffin mixture over the peach mixture and smoothed it out, but didn’t worry about the fact that it didn’t completely cover the peaches up.  It puffed up when I baked it.

I baked it for 15-20 minutes at 350 degrees in my camper oven.  I’ll bet it could be modified for a Dutch oven over the fire, as well.

IMG_3085

It turned out so well!  I cut it into 4 pieces, and then flipped each one over onto a plate because I do not have any platters large enough in the camper to turn the entire pan out on to.  If I really had wanted to, I could have lined my little cookie sheet with foil and turned it out on that.  The family devoured it.  It should have served 8, but it was downed by 4 this time.

Leave a Reply

