Last Minute Christmas Gift–Potholders

FullSizeRender

Cast iron is hot, and it’s easy to get burned, whether you are cooking inside or out.  One quick and easy Christmas gift you can make for an avid cast-iron cook is some potholders.

I started with scrap fabric.  I didn’t want to use anything that cost a great deal, because cast iron can be very messy, especially if you are cooking over a fire.

I cut 10 inch squares of fabric.  Other sizes would work fine, that’s what I had.  I also thought it would be big enough to grasp a pot or pot handle.  I cut a back and a front from fabric, and a layer of Insul-Bright.  The Insul-Bright is a batting that has a layer of heat reflecting material.  It is supposed to protect the user from getting burned.  It is not recommended for use in a microwave.  I plan to give these as Christmas gifts to those who need to grab a pot, so it will work fine for me and keep the heat from seeping through the fabric and burning anyone.

FullSizeRender

Once I had them cut, I layered them.  I put the 2 main pieces right sides together, and the Insul-Bright on top and pinned all around.FullSizeRender

I sewed around all 3 layers with a 1/4 inch seam, leaving  a gap, as shown in the picture.  I clipped the corners and trimmed.

FullSizeRender

I turned them right side out, pressed, and pinned the hole shut.  I topstitched all the way around.  Then, to hold all the layers together, I topstitched from corner to corner, making a big “X” on the potholder.

Cost breakdown:  Fabric–free- Mine were scraps from previous projects years ago.  You could use old jeans, or other used clothing.  You could ask people who sew for scraps, they usually have lots and would love for them to be used.  Insul-Bright–I paid around $5.50 for a yard. I got mine at a quilt shop, but JoAnn’s also carries it. I think I can get about 12 from this yard (I used some for another project, so I’m guessing a little).  Thread–I had some.   For me:  Around 50c per pot holder.  It would be more if you purchased new fabric.

Time used:  About 15 minutes per pot holder.

I plan to make some more.  I’ve decided there are a few people that I want to remember at Christmas.  They are quick and easy and they look very nice when finished.

One thought on “Last Minute Christmas Gift–Potholders

Leave a Reply

